Collection Title:

Theta Phi Records, 1969-2007, undated


The Helsabeck Archives of the Stone-Campbell Movement
Emmanuel Christian Seminary Library at Milligan
1 Walker Drive
Johnson City, TN 37682


Emmanuel Chapter, Theta Phi Honor Society

Blowers, Paul

Brown, Delno

Bryant, Beauford

Hall, Robert “Bob”

Matson, Mark

Owens, Robert

Rollston, Christopher

Taber, Charles

Thomas, Ted

Walker, Dorothy Keister


Theta Phi Records, 1969-2007, undated

Collection No.



0.4 cubic feet (1 box)




The Emmanuel Chapter of Theta Phi honor society was founded in 1972. These records contain historical notes, speeches from Theta Phi lectures, and annual meeting information from this chapter.

Administrative History:

The International Society of Theta Phi is a religion honor society founded in 1933. The Emmanuel School of Religion (now Emmanuel Christian Seminary at Milligan University) chapter was founded on April 21, 1972 with notable charter members such as Delno Brown, Beauford Bryant, Joseph Dampier, Toyozo Nakarai, John Neth, Fred Norris, Fred Thompson, Dean Walker, and Henry Webb. Brown, Nakarai, Thompson, and Walker had all been members of the chapter at Butler School of Religion (now Christian Theological Seminary). A charter student member was Donald Jeanes, who would go on to become Milligan University’s fourteenth president. Theta Phi hosted annual banquets and occasional lectures on a wide variety of topics.


Items were in one stack and were separated out into four different folders. The collection is too small for series, so the folder list is comparable to a series list. These folders are Theta Phi History, 1973-2004, undated; Speeches, 1981-2003, undated; Annual Files, 1969-1989; and Annual Files, 1990-2007.

Scope and Content Note:

The collection is divided into four folders, due to the small amount of materials. These folders are Theta Phi History, Speeches, and Annual Files (two folders).

The Theta Phi History folder includes material on Theta Phi’s history, as well as the Emmanuel chapter and the Beta chapter at Christian Theological Seminary (formerly Butler School of Religion) in Indianapolis, IN. The Speeches folder includes speeches given annually to the Emmanuel chapter. The two Annual Files folders include annual information on Emmanuel’s chapter’s meetings and members.

Administrative Information

Acquisition Information

Accession 2023-002

Access Restrictions:

The collection is open for research.

The Annual Files folders are restricted until eighty (80) years past creation date due to FERPA. The last set will open in 2087.

The archivist reserves the right to determine on a case-by-case basis if certain folders within the collection that have been requested for viewing cannot be made available due to various restriction compliance, including but not limited to student information, private personal information, and organizational information of a restricted nature.

Preferred Citation:

[Item], Theta Phi Records, Collection HSC0012, The Helsabeck Archives of the Stone-Campbell Movement, Emmanuel Christian Seminary at Milligan University, Johnson City, TN.

Processing Information:

Processed by Katherine Banks

Completed in 2023

Folder List

Box 1

  • Theta Phi History, 1973-2004, undated

  • Speeches, 1981-2003, undated

  • Annual Files, 1969-1989 RESTRICTED

  • Annual Files, 1990-2007 RESTRICTED

Recent Submissions


© Milligan University. All Rights Reserved.